Unique Pre-Clinical Opportunities: EAB

*See the bottom of this post to learn more about EAB!*
Cover image obtained from the Birmingham Times. Article link at bottom.

 

Written by: Emily Hayward, MS-1

When I first stepped foot into Equal Access Birmingham (EAB), UAB’s medical student-run free clinic for the underserved, I was nervous. I had only been a medical student for a month. If I were to hand you a list of everything I knew about treating patients… you’d probably be holding the world’s tiniest piece of paper. But that day, I had the unique opportunity to volunteer as a clinic leader, which meant that I would be primarily responsible for patient care.

Before the shift started, the other first year student and I received a crash-course on patient care at EAB. We learned about where we would take our patients and how the clinic runs each day. We learned how to operate the clinic’s sphygmomanometer and blood glucose meter, and we even practiced the finger prick on each other (multiple times). Additionally, before arriving at EAB, our MS-1 pre-clinical course trained us in taking a patient history and conducting a brief review of systems.

Still, using these skills with a real-life patient seemed completely different. I was nervous. Fortunately, I was often comforted to see the names of other MSTP students as I began reviewing patient charts. Once I felt like I properly understood the patient’s medical history and any pressing issues, I went over to the waiting room and called for him or her.

In a silly way, the waiting room encounters were perhaps one of the hardest parts of the day. Do I announce the patient’s first name? Last name? Both? And how do I introduce myself and my role? Of course, I found that none of these details really mattered… With even a few more months of experience, I’m already laughing at my naïve self!

Next, I brought each patient into the clinic area. I recorded vital signs and led patients into an examination room. I inquired about the patient’s reason for visiting EAB, making sure to take detailed notes about his or her chief complaint and associated issues. Before leaving, I summarized the information to the patient just to make sure I had the details right.

Of everything I did that day, piecing together the patient’s story was my favorite. I felt somewhat like a detective. In many ways, I think that is what drew me to medicine in the first place. The patient had an experience (or multiple seemingly unrelated experiences) to share, and I had the chance to piece together the right questions that would illuminate ways in which we could help.

After leaving the examination room, I took a few minutes to jot down some notes and collect my thoughts into a coherent story to present to the physician who was volunteering his time that day. I explained that I was a first year medical student, so these were my first patients. Still, I asked him if it would be okay for me to try my hand not just at presenting the cases, but also at analyzing the situations and drawing up treatment plans.

Fortunately, the attending was extremely kind and patient with me. Even better – he encouraged me to practice fully managing each patient’s care. As a measly first-year, I had the opportunity to tell him about Patient X, who came in to the clinic with complaints of dizziness and disorientation. After viewing vitals and lab reports, I suggested my first (correct!) diagnosis and proposed an adjustment to her current medications. Later, I would enter the complete analysis that the doctor and I conducted into the patient’s electronic medical record.

At times, the shift was definitely a learning experience. There were moments where I left the room only to quickly return because I forgot to ask a question, or when I failed to write the appointment time on the door. Yet when I speak with friends at other institutions, many do not believe the independence EAB granted me. I was honored to play a critical role in diagnosing, treating, and documenting records for real patients. To hold this privilege was a massive gift, and I have no doubt it will help me be a better physician in the coming years.

 

 

WHAT IS EQUAL ACCESS BIRMINGHAM?

  • Opened in 2012 by UASOM students
  • Clinic run by UAB students, primarily in their first or second year of medical school
  • Provides free healthcare to underserved and uninsured populations
  • 1-2 physicians are present per clinic day (Sundays and Wednesdays) to oversee students
  • Services: primary care, pharmacy, health education, physical therapy, and social work

 

WAYS TO LEARN MORE AND TO KEEP UP WITH EAB:

  1. UAB Students Run Clinic for the Underserved in Downtown Birmingham,” article by the Birmingham Times
  2. Facebook
  3. Website

 

Leave a Reply

